I have an e-mail address I use exclusively for spam. I visit a site, they force me to login in order to do anything, they get this address. Today I got an e-mail at info@razornylon.com which I have never used for anything, and from now on it will only see my spam folder. Below is the message:
Dear owner of the adium@razornylon.com mailbox,
You have to change the security mode of your account, from standart to secure. Please change the security mode by using the link below:http://accounts.razornylon.com.verzzn.co.uk/webmail/settings/noflash.php?mode=standart&id=84821682180119139763927570572924627885997635531797028081890793&email=adium@razornylon.com
For starters, they can’t spell “standard”. Second they make it look like it came from my own domain. The one I own, the one they are contacting via the info@razornylon.com account. Then upon visiting the site (running linux on my laptop) I see that they want to show me something, but I have to install flash first. Of course they are hosting the exe file, which is how they would get you, but this has to be the lamest attempt I have ever seen.
At least with those fake virus warnings they are targeted at everyone, and sometimes look very convincing. This message is directed solely at me, a website admin, using my own domain to disguise their own. Is it maybe possible that a guy who built a particular website is aware that there is no subdomain “accounts”? Maybe if they sent the e-mail directly to the account in question, but no… they sent it to the info@razornylon.com account.
That said, I am sure there is probably some idiot that will fall for it. However I can’t imagine the success rate is really all that high.
verzzn.co.uk was registered on Nov 19 to:
Suzanne Mendez
Taylor Street Apt. 22
Wilrijk
2771
BelgiumThrough the company http://www.123-reg.co.uk
Hopefully they take appropriate measures before Suzanne finds the one dumb bloke!








